Return

yinyang-owlsGreetings! It has been a very long while since I wrote anything here.  Suffering from severe depression and physical ill-health has made doing anything worthwhile very difficult. However, I have been mulling things over and would like to give this a try again. Mainly to endeavour to pull myself back into life but also to carve out an authentic life for myself as I feel that authenticity has been lacking for a very long time. In fact everything seems to have been lacking for eons it seems. Hence the reason for my choice of title…a returning.

But I would also like to say something about my choice of picture for this post – the owl yin yang thumbnail. First of all the concept of yin and yang or Taijitu as the symbol is known is important to me. Now, I am not a Buddhist or Taoist (although I have a keen interest), so a simple definition of Taijitu is this:

Two halves that together complete wholeness. Yin and yang are also the starting point for change. When something is whole, by definition it is unchanging and complete. So when you split something into two halves – yin / yang, it upsets the equilibrium of wholeness. This starts both halves chasing after each other as they seek a new balance with each other.

Yin is viewed as the dark or shadow half of the whole and yang as the light half. Moreover, yin is often seen as female and receptive, and yang as masculine and projective. Another example is Night (Yin) and Day (Yang). Yin Yang is the concept of duality forming a whole. But for me the main point is that we need BOTH in BALANCE in order to be authentic and whole. The irony of this concept is that we can never really be at that place of utter wholeness, I guess that is the irony of the human condition because yin and yang are forever chasing each other trying to balance each other out.

Neither Yin nor Yang are absolute. Nothing is completely Yin or completely Yang. Each aspect contains the beginning point for the other aspect. For example: day becomes night and then night becomes day…Yin and Yang are interdependent upon each other so that the definition of one requires the definition for the other to be complete.

So life is a continual struggle to balance these aspects in harmony within ourselves; and I say struggle because we have to contend with inner and outside influences that seek to off-set the balance. For example our own psychology and experiences, our external cultures and how we view the world external to ourselves.

I chose Taijitu in the form of two owls to represent wisdom. In folklore and in pagan ways, among other things, the owl can represent wisdom. In seeking balance within myself I need wisdom that comes from listening carefully to my own instinct as well as other sources, but mainly from my own intuitive self which has long gone unheeded.

So, I hope to be writing more as time goes on and recovering the parts of myself I have lost or cast off.

Reference: What is Yin Yang? http://personaltao.com/teachings/questions/what-is-yin-yang/

 

2 thoughts on “Return

Leave your thoughts

