The Fairy Ring Oracle

fairy ring oracle boxIt’s been a long time since I posted in here with anything original. I’ve been lacklustre for a long while due to ill health. Anyway, I recently purchased a fabulous new oracle deck called The Fairy Ring Oracle by Anna Franklin. Now this deck is styled along the lines of a tarot deck (with suits covering Spring, Summer, autumn and Winter) and numbered cards with character cards such as King and Queen. However, this is where any similarity ends as it is NOT a tarot deck. The link above will take you to Aeclectic Tarot website with a preview of the cards and reviews. It is a large deck, with 60 cards, although it’s nice to find cards that are easy to shuffle as these are not over-sized cards. The deck is based on Celtic (British and Irish) folklore of the Fae, including such characters as the Phooka, Billy Winker (i.e. Wee Willy Winkee), faery animals, the Baen Sith and many others; some good and some bad. The deck is designed to be read with reversals also. What I really like is the lovely art work, which is vibrant and alive. The guide book is an actual book (not a LWB tiny pamphlet) and has history and lore about each character, divinatory meanings and also reversed meanings, along side various spreads and extra information and activities such as path workings with each card. The author, Anna Franklin, is a respected pagan writer who has also written, amongst other things, a glorious book entitled Herbcraft: a guide to the shamanic and ritual use of herbs, which is full of really great information for any discerning witch or pagan.

I’m really looking forward to working with this deck over the coming weeks as I feel really drawn to it, not just because of my love of the Fae, folklore and history but also because I think the Fae are tugging me in this direction to get me over my current ‘hump’. So I’m going to be drawing a card each Sunday as a ‘card of the week’ mainly for my own guidance but hopefully there will be something for my readers to glean from it too. I know I’ve started doing this kind of thing before and not kept up with it but I think you have to have a deck you’re REALLY enthused with and also feeling in the right place. So let’s give it a go.

One thought on “The Fairy Ring Oracle

  1. oh yes i will follow this with interest!! i’ve had this deck for a bit but not had a chance to do much more than admire it yet 🙂 i’m so sorry you’ve been having health issues but i know how it is. big hugs!!

Leave your thoughts

