Despacho Ritual ~ New Moon 8th July 2013

Last night I did my first despacho ritual to give thanks for my many blessings, to release what isn’t serving me anymore, and to renew myself. I filled my paper with 3 sigils representing what I was releasing, garlic, rue, red sandalwood, peony petals, frankincense, copal benzoin and mandrake. I also added slips of paper with my thanks for my blessings on one, and what I was releasing on the other. A feather from my kitties toy to represent them, and some good dark chocolate to represent the good things given to me by the Universe. I then blew my thanks into one bay leaf, my releases into another, and my affirmations into a third.

After meditating for a while I waited until exactly midnight and went outside to burn my despacho, which I laid on a bed of peony leaves. Set fire to it and watched it burn, with the scent of the various herbs and resins filling the air. Sitting outside, with the scented night air, the sounds of foxes surrounding me, the twinkling stars above, and the power of the new moon was a cleansing and invigorating experience, in which I feel renewed and filled with joy.

burning well

2 thoughts on “Despacho Ritual ~ New Moon 8th July 2013

    • Yes it was really beautiful. Despacho is a Peruvian shamanic ritual performed for releasing and giving thanks. It was my first one but I think I’m going to be making it a regular part of my spiritual path.

Leave your thoughts

