The Keeper of the Scales

the keeper of the scalesWho is the Keeper of the Scales? The Goddesses Maat, Isis and Themis are all personifications of fairness and balance, associated with scales of justice. Weighing things up, good or bad, right or wrong. The thing is to achieve a balance in our lives and that’s not easy. When we are out of balance, either too high on happiness or contentment – this can lead to us to becoming ungrateful and taking things for granted. The other way, when we are bowed down with the heaviness of sorrow, or just plain stress leads to depression and the giving up of joy and hope. Both these are unbalanced.

I know when I become unbalanced and can feel both these extremes at times. The lesson is to bring myself back into balance with the universe. How do you do that? And what does being balanced ‘feel’ like? Well, it’s not easy, at least I haven’t found it so. For me it meant becoming aware of myself and the world around me, dealing with my ego, which is a hard thing to do and brings up aspects of myself I’d rather not look at thank you very much. But it has to be done. I HAVE to look at my selfishness, my jealousy, my sorrow and my anger. I HAVE to learn to accept the past and truly know it IS the past. Nothing can change it – it was what it was! So acceptance is very important.

So is forgiveness. however, forgiveness doesn’t mean pretending it’s all alright. It means letting go. People have done wrong to me and I’ve done wrong to others too. I am truly sorry. I cannot speak for those who have done wrong to me but I forgive them. Mainly because they were not aware. How can you be held responsible if you’re not aware? I’ve learnt valuable lessons from the hurt and disappointment and I’m actually grateful for that. Through becoming aware I can see the lessons now.

I can forgive myself for the hurt I’ve caused others. Yes, there will always be a certain amount of guilt and sorrow that I will always carry with me and that is my karma but I no longer have to wear a hair cloth shirt and beat myself up continually. If I’d been aware in the past I’d have done things differently but I was not aware.

What does balance feel like? It feels like a calmness, an inner serenity, a mindfulness. Of course mindfulness is a daily practice and if I don’t do this with awareness then the serenity and calmness diminishes. Bring myself back to the present moment – what needs to be attended to? What do I need to direct my undivided focus on? Everything you do, do it with awareness and mindfulness, do it with beauty and joy in mind. Even if feeling sorrowful, honour your sorrow – your tears are precious. Are you happy? Then honour your laughter too.

Allow the universe to guide you in all things. When we forge ahead with our ‘ego’ wants we can become unbalanced. The ego tells us it needs such and so forth but in reality we don’t need this. We only think we do. Get out of your head and into your heart, for that is where true balance lies.

4 thoughts on “The Keeper of the Scales

  1. I’ve only just found your site, deep glade, when I was looking for some information to send to a friend who had never heard of ‘Hag Stones’. I found your very helpful post and sent him the link (saying that ‘this is what I could almost have written myself’!) Having done that, I am browsing further around your site and have downloaded your herbalism site’s pdf newsletter. I wanted to leave you a greeting to thank you for all that and have decided to do it here, where I can also say what a helpful post this is. I very much like the image – where is it from? I could imagine using it helpfully as the Justice card in Tarot and thus getting a different nuance to that, sometimes rather harsh-seeming, card.
    Very best wishes
    Muireann

    • Thank you very much. The card is from the Oracle deck Wisdom of the Hidden Realms by Collette Baron-Reid. I hope you enjoy reading the newsletter 🙂
      Blessings
      Deep~Glade

  2. Wonderful post – very interesting after my emotional month! I find that ‘finding balance’ is a daily lesson for me – some days easy and some days hard *smiles* great post 😉

Leave your thoughts

