Making Full Moon Water

Something I do every Full Moon is to make moon water. I use this for all kinds of things – enhancing spells, watering my plants, blessings, consecration rituals, in divination…all kinds of things actually. Sometimes I drink a little bit of it, or make my morning tea with it, if I need a boost of Full Moon energy, or I might add it to my bath water. In fact you can use moon water in any way you like.

So how do you make moon water? Well obviously you’ll need some water but it is best to use clear running natural water, say from a stream or spring. However, if this is not available then you can use still bottle spring water as I do. Please do NOT use tap water as this has been chemically treated. A bottle of still spring water from the supermarket doesn’t cost much and is much better to use if you do not have access to clear running streams or natural springs as I don’t. You could actually use rain water as long as it hasn’t been standing too long and you might have to filter it through a sieve to remove bits and pieces first.

Next you’ll need a receptical to put the water in – I use a clean, clear glass bowl that I keep especially for the job but you can use any glass or earthenware container, even plastic at a pinch – as long as it has a wide circumference so it can absorb as much of the moon’s power and energy as possible. I don’t use metal containers because I believe the metal in saucepans etc. taint the purity of the water.

Then, on the night of the Full Moon stand your water on a windowsill, or even better outside, where it can absorb the moon’s energy. If standing your bowl of water outside you might like to cover it with some light material (muslin is great) so moths and things don’t fall into it. If placing on a windowsill don’t worry, the moon’s energy will still be absorbed. also, Even if the sky is cloudy and the moon isn’t visible the water still absorbs the moon’s energy – after all we can all see the effects of the strong energy of the moon in the tides can’t we. They still occur even if the moon is hidden by clouds. It is the moon’s energy we are harnessing, not its light.

Once I’ve placed my bowl where I want it, either on the windowsill or outside, I usually say a blessing over it, and then I leave it. How long do we leave the bowl of water for? Well that depends, some people like to leave the bowl out over night, as I do, and bring it in the next morning. Other’s just leave it for a couple of hours. It really depends on you and how strong you want your water to be. Some even leave their water for three nights utilising the Full Moon’s power on the night before the zenith of the complete fullness, the actual night of the Full Moon, and the night after. From my own experience I would say to put the bowl of water out on the night of the Full Moon and bring it in the next morning at least.

One other thing I do is to place a cleansed and charged Herkimer Diamond into the bowl of water as I bless the water. I do this to amplify the water’s power and energy. See below for the properties of Herkimer Diamonds. However, you don’t have to do this. Other people add a few drops of rose water, or other essential oils depending on the properties they want to give to the water and this will probably depend on what they want to use the water for later.

The next morning bring your moon water in (if it’s outside) and filter it through muslin to remove any ‘bits’ that have gotten in it over night. If the water has been standing on the windowsill you won’t have to do this. I transfer my moon water into a green glass bottle but you can transfer it into anything you like really. I use a clean plastic funnel for transferring the water easily from the bowl into the bottle and then I add the Herkimer Diamond into the bottle as I keep it there all the time. And that’s really all there is to it. now you can use your Moon charged and energised water how you wish.

Full ‘Blue’ Moon Water I made last night, standing on my outside altar with my symbolic sacred well (the cauldron, also containing some of the water) and my gifts to the garden nature spirits – hand painted stone, moss agate and obsidian arrow head (for the ancestors)

Herkimer Diamonds

No, they are not real diamonds but rather they are a variety of double terminated quartz that embody a high crystal energy. They’re called Herkimers because they were first found at Herkimer, New York, USA. They boost psychic abilities big time because they enable the highest spiritual vibrations possible whilst still being in your physical body, and they also embody pure energy. So they stimulate all psychic powers including clairvoyance, clairaudience etc. They are usually a beautiful clear stone but often have little black inclusions (which do not diminish the power of the stone). Being a variety of quartz they amplify energies as well as boosting the energy of other stones they are used with. Herkimers relate to and work with the Third Eye, Crown and soul Star Chakras and are useful when working with these chakras in particular. They are especially good for use in meditation, healing, enhancing our spiritual state, drawing the energy of angelic beings, retaining information and so are really wonderful to use when working with positive affirmations. Herkimers help us to let go of unconscious fears and expand our overall being. They enhance spontaneity, increase psychic ability, promote better channelling and clearer communication with spirit guides. They are also said to boost the immune system and aid in the healing of eyesight problems. You can combine Herkimers with other stones too, especially Moldavite, Tibetan Tektite, Apophylite, Tanzanite, Angel Phantom Quartz, Danburite, Seraphinite and Lithium Quartz. However, be aware that all these stones have high vibrational energy also, so with the addition of Herkimer one is in for a power house experience and you will probably have to really ground well after using them.

12 thoughts on “Making Full Moon Water

  1. I would like to add a few drops of rose water to the moon water but don’t know if I add them before placing the water outside in the moonlight or after I bring it back in my house?

    • Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply. Thank you for your comment, I’m so glad you like the idea. The soul star chakra is located above the top of the head, just above the crown chakra. It is the seat of one’s soul in chakra work.

  2. Thank you for your generosity in sharing how to make moon water, and for making the instructions so clear! I’ll be making my first batch of moon water tonight in Quebec, Canada, to use in a Women’s Circle that I lead. 🙂

  3. I made moon water during the September full moon. I added a pinch of pink sea salt and left the container in the full moon for 3 days. The water is so crystal clear…you can almost ‘see’/’feel’ the energies it absorbed. I also had my depression glass plate with my crystal grid out in the full moon

  4. Thanks for the information. How do you keep the moon water from going icky…I made Virgo moon water last month (my first attempt). It’s stored in glass mason jars but it has a strange taste.

    • When I make moon water I only make a small amount and use it within a couple of weeks. I usually make it only if I’m going to need it for something specific. Perhaps your mason jars have had something in them before that has left a slight taint. Also I always keep a quartz crystal in the container. I think the trick is not to keep it for too long. Hope this helps 🙂

  5. Pingback: Making Full Moon Water | Sit a Spell Show

Leave your thoughts

