Daily Om ~ The Effect of Not Doing

Our actions shape our lives, but what we don’t take action on can be just as powerful.

Life is sculpted on a moment-to-moment basis. Every one of the thoughts we think, the words we speak, and the actions we take contributes to the complex quality and character of the universe’s unfolding. It simply is not possible to be alive without making an impact on the world that surrounds us. Every action taken affects the whole as greatly as every action not taken. And when it comes to making the world a better place, what we choose not to do can be just as important as what we choose to do.

For example, when we neglect to recycle, speak up, vote, or help somebody in immediate need, we are denying ourselves the opportunity to be an agent for positive change. Instead, we are enabling a particular course to continue unchallenged, picking up speed even as it goes along. By holding the belief that our actions don’t make much of a difference, we may find that we often tend to forego opportunities for involvement. Alternatively, if we see ourselves as important participants in an ever-evolving world, we may feel more inspired to contribute our unique perspective and gifts to a situation.

It is wise to be somewhat selective about how and where we are using our energy in order to keep ourselves from becoming scattered. Not every cause or action is appropriate for every person. When a situation catches our attention, however, and speaks to our heart, it is important that we honour our impulse to help and take the action that feels right for us. It may be offering a kind word to a friend, giving resources to people in need, or just taking responsibility for our own behaviour. By doing what we can, when we can, we add positive energy to our world. And sometimes, it may be our one contribution that makes all the difference.

6 thoughts on “Daily Om ~ The Effect of Not Doing

    • Yep, it was a moment of synchronicity – much needed after the crappy day I had yesterday. I am always awestruck (still) at the wonderful way the Universe teaches us at exactly the right moment and at the most needed time. I do hope you’re having a lovely day today. The sun is shining here in Swanley although it’s a bit chilly (but no mind). I’ve just been out in the garden to pick a bit of lemon balm for my morning brew. My kitties wanted out so I let them go out in the garden but when they realised how chilly it was they wanted in again – so funny! Sending bright blessings to you – Deep Glade xxx

      • Sorry to hear that you had a crappy day. My day up to know has been fine :), thank you, Celticawitch. The only ‘bad’ bit was a visit to the dentist earlier as I get ever so claustrophobic when I’m made to lay daown on a chair, and needles and other shiny metal things are prodded into my mouth.

        I love the citrony smell of lemon balm, and lemon thyme too. Talking about kitties, my little familiar was beaten up yesterday in the garden by a fierce stripey intruder that is new to the area, I never let her out unsupervised, and our garden is fenced of quite high to keep her in. I was just making a cup of tea when this little stripey menace came over the wall from outside, and within secons the two were at it, Kicking and screaming with puffs of fur all over the place, you know what it’s like. I shot out of the kitchen and threw some water over them. Silly buggers. ( Don’t like my cat fighting at all because off the dieseases and other nasties she could contract, also there is always the risk of injury or absesses.)

        Blessings to you too of the warmest kind.
        xx

        • Oh gosh, yes I know all about kitties and the fur flying. My two are indoor kits really but I allow them to go out in the back garden supervised too. They never go far anyway and always come back when I call them. I have always had cats, being a cat person myself (although I do like dogs, and well ALL animals). I used to allow my cats to go out when they wanted but the risk of injury and loss is too great. I had a beautiful stripy ginger cat who disappeared one day and never came back and then I decided that my next cats would be indoor ones. However, they do have their moments…running around like a herd of elephants – I can’t believe that cats can make so much noise LOL 🙂 Any way my day today has been a lot better than yesterday and I’m now looking forward to doing my own little ritual tonight and making my moon water, which I do at each Full Moon.

          Blessings xxx

      • Hahaha, yes its so funny when they do the old ‘herd of elephants’ routine. Mine goes totally scatty on a regular basis running like a silly rabbit down the hallway, or attacking the scratchpost, or beating and kicking the stuffing out of her toys. Beautiful night out, was just outside and Mother Moon is smiling down on the forest.

        Nite nite.

Leave your thoughts

