The Daily Card: The Enchanted Map ~ Magic Prayer

I’ve been a little remiss in posting Daily Cards lately. Well, here is today’s – Magic Prayer – a very beautiful card it is too. Here’s what the companion book says about it:

Speak your prayers, listen for the answers, act in faith! When you see the Magic Prayer card, it is a reminder that your prayers will be answered. Spirit is always waiting to help you – and to heal you – when you’re in need. That said, the best prayer is ‘Thy will be done through me; thy will and not mine be done.” Conscious contact with your higher power is achieved through the ritual of prayer and meditation. speak and listen to the Divine force within the field of creation. Surrender your wishes and desires to the Spirit. You may not get what you want, but you will surely get what you need. Your destiny awaits you. As long as you keep in conscious contact with your higher power, be assured that you are on the right path.

 

When I first read what the companion book said about this card I immediately thought of a very unpleasant experience I’ve had this week. An experience and situation that I knew deep in my heart was coming but I could really do little to avoid. Rather than worry too much about it I’d decided to let it play out as it will and deal with it when it actually happened. although having said that it was still a burden for me. But I had been praying about it before hand and I believe that how I dealt with the experience was in large part having my prayers answered. No, it was not pleasant but my reaction to it all was not how it would have been a couple of years ago. I haven’t sailed through the experience but I’ve managed to cope with it in a far more constructive and healthier way. Through prayer and constant contact with my patron Goddess Modron, I have been given the strength to overcome the onslaught of quite negative emotions and not revert back to my old behaviour of self-harming and running away from a difficult situation. Of course I’ve also had the support of a couple of dear friends and my daughter too.

I guess the main thing about prayer and asking for help from the gods (or whatever your higher power is) is to not assume your prayers will be answered in the way you want them to be answered. Higher power and Spirit never works like that. We might have to go through an unpleasant experience for a very good reason, to teach us something, or to teach someone else something perhaps. However, we will be given the strength and support needed to get through it. It is our ego that wishes our prayers be answered in a certain way and Spirit doesn’t operate with the ego.

Leave your thoughts

