Thursday 11th June 2009 ~ Waning Gibbous Moon in Capricorn

I’ve not been feeling that great today, rather blue and missing Meadowhawk very much. I was supposed to go out and see some friends but I didn’t go. I just wanted to stay in doors and I’m worried that my old ways of not going out are slipping back. But the day was kind of productive at least. I got all the Oracle Study commenting done and have been reading more of Lesson 10 and contemplating it. Also, great news, I’ve been given access to the Historical Paganism course finally but not the forum yet. Wow! the course looks great but I know it’s going to be pretty intensive work if I want to do it properly and get certification. There are a plethora of books on the recommended reading list and there’s no way I can afford them all, so I’m going to see if I can order them on loan from my library but I don’t hold out too much hope of that because our local library isn’t that great.

I’ve been thinking about what I said about the God and Goddess and deities and reread what it said in the lesson. I still cannot get my head around deities being separate ethereal entities. Then I started thinking about what Carl Jung said about archetypes, myths and the collective unconscious. So this is how I see it…there is one God and one Goddess and, like I said before, the deities are all manmade constructs of these two. Born from the collective unconscious and the social and cultural setting of the time in which they first appeared. I think this is why so many names of deities are so similar, or have similar myths attached to them and this can be seen by comparing the names of Celtic deities for example.

So, when I invoke Brighid I am invoking a particular goddess but THE GODDESS still. THE Goddess in the guise of a particular construct with a set of individual attributes and for a specific purpose. I suppose the God and Goddess can become who they wish and maybe that does include specific and individual deities but they are all one and the same – THE God and THE Goddess.

It’s all rather confusing I have to admit but this is the only way I can make sense of it in my mind and in keeping with what my heart tells me. I suppose it’s what feels right to me. So why call on specific gods and goddesses at all? Why not just always invoke the generic God and Goddess? I think this is because using different deities for specific reasons and purposes is more individual and helps us humans understand and feel that the God and Goddess is aiding us with the specific attributes we want. For example, asking for Brighid’s aid for healing makes sense to us and we feel she has a discernable interest in helping us, with the right qualities we need.

But I know that each and every one of us has a different way of viewing things as all humans do and that is one of the wonderful things about Wicca. One is able to follow what feels right for you personally, there is no dogma. So what is said in Lesson 10 will be right for some and for some others it won’t, and maybe others will have a completely different take on it all together.

Blessings
Deep~Glade

Leave your thoughts

