Tuesday 9th June 2009 ~ Waning Gibbous Moon in Capricorn

Still waiting for an email from SM regarding my enrolment into the Historical Paganism course. I’m so excited and cannot wait but they did say 3 business days so I must be patient.

I received my little piece of Moldavite this morning and wow! for a tiny piece of stone it sure is powerful. I keep holding it to my third eye and can feel its energy coursing into me. It makes me feel as though I’m kind of bouncing off the walls and very energised and excited. I’m keeping it in my leather pouch around my neck with a tiny piece of Aventurine and another piece of Hematite. It is good to use Moldavite with a grounding stone because of the intensely high vibrations of Moldavite. While holding it I feel very open and it’s like a rush…not unlike a cocaine rush but far, far better. I think I’ll have to be careful with this stone.

I’ve been talking to Adalia about Lesson 10 as we are both on the same lesson. We’ve been discussing the lesson’s explanation of deities. now, to me the deities are all aspects of the One God and One Goddess but the lesson describes them as separate ethereal entities. I’m not quite sure I agree with this description but am not saying the lesson is wrong. To me I think of Dion Fortune’s description of All gods are One God and all goddesses are One Goddess, and there is one Initiator, which she wrote in her book The Sea Priestess. She quoted this phrase from the Latin play The Golden Ass by Apuleius. This is more in tune with my own understanding but perhaps this is because of my own Christian upbringing. The All is duality (male/god and female/goddess) and all things are created through their union.

However, since the Goddess gives birth to all things I suppose it stands to reason that she might have created separate ethereal entities in her image with different characteristics and qualities. Nevertheless, I believe that the deities are aspects of Her and Him and they acquire their characteristics and qualities through humankind, depending on the social culture in which they are born. For example, when invoking Cerridwen (for transformation aid) I am calling upon THE Goddess but with certain qualities that I need at that time. Or, for healing I will call upon Brighid – still THE Goddess but with another set of qualities that I need. I think thinking about the God/Goddess in this way is easier for humankind to understand them.

The Charge of the Goddess says this at the very beginning:

Listen to the words of the Great Mother; she who of old was also called among men Artemis, Astarte, Athene, Dione, Melusine, Aphrodite, Cerridwen, Cybele, Arianrhod, Isis, Dana, Bride and by many other names:

To me that is basically saying that there is only ONE Goddess and she is merely called by different names by mankind in order for them to better understand her infiniteness and to aid them in their different magick. One would call on a different ‘goddess’ depending on what one needed help with. Not separate ethereal entities but just ONE Goddess with different aspects. When I work with a particular deity I am merely working with The God or The Goddess under a different aspect.

So this is what I feel comfortable with and what I can go with. Slightly different from the lesson’s view but nonetheless as valid I believe.

Blessings
Deep~Glade

Leave your thoughts

